Environmental Protection Agency

technicians who successfully com-
pleted their voluntary programs of the
Administrator’s decision within 30 days
of that decision.

(iii) Persons who withdraw applica-
tions for voluntary program approval
submitted pursuant to §82.161(g)(1)
must inform technicians who success-
fully completed their voluntary pro-
grams of the withdrawal by the later of
30 days after the withdrawal or Decem-
ber 9, 1994.

(3) Technicians who successfully
completed voluntary certification pro-
grams may receive certification in a
given Type through that program only
if:

(i) The voluntary certification pro-
gram successfully completed by the
technician is approved for that Type
pursuant to §82.161(g)(1);

(if) The technician successfully com-
pleted the portions of the voluntary
certification program that correspond
to that Type; and

(iii) The technician reads any supple-
mentary materials required by the Ad-
ministrator pursuant to §82.161(g)(1)
and section j of appendix D of subpart
F of this part, and returns the signed
statement required by §82.161(g)(1).

[58 FR 28712, May 14, 1993, as amended at 59
FR 42957, 42962, Aug. 19, 1994]

§82.162 Certification by owners of re-
covery and recycling equipment.

(a) No later than August 12, 1993, or
within 20 days of commencing business
for those persons not in business at the
time of promulgation, persons main-
taining, servicing, or repairing appli-
ances except for MVACs, and persons
disposing of appliances except for small
appliances and MVVACs, must certify to
the Administrator that such person has
acquired certified recovery or recycling
equipment and is complying with the
applicable requirements of this sub-
part. Such equipment may include sys-
tem-dependent equipment but must in-
clude self-contained equipment, if the
equipment is to be used in the mainte-
nance, service, or repair of appliances
except for small appliances. The owner
or lessee of the recovery or recycling
equipment may perform this certifi-
cation for his or her employees. Certifi-
cation shall take the form of a state-
ment signed by the owner of the equip-
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ment or another responsible officer and
setting forth:

(1) The name and address of the pur-
chaser of the equipment, including the
county name;

(2) The name and address of the es-
tablishment where each piece of equip-
ment is or will be located;

(3) The number of service trucks (or
other vehicles) used to transport tech-
nicians and equipment between the es-
tablishment and job sites and the field;

(4) The manufacturer name, the date
of manufacture, and if applicable, the
model and serial nhumber of the equip-
ment; and

(5) The certification must also in-
clude a statement that the equipment
will be properly used in servicing or
disposing of appliances and that the in-
formation given is true and correct.
Owners or lessees of recycling or recov-
ery equipment having their places of
business in:

Connecticut
Maine
Massachusetts
New Hampshire
Rhode Island
Vermont

must send their certifications to:

CAA §608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion I, Mail Code APC, JFK Federal Build-
ing, One Congress Street, Boston, MA 02203.

Owners or lessees of recycling or re-
covery equipment having their places
of business in:

New York
New Jersey
Puerto Rico
Virgin Islands

must send their certifications to:

CAA 8608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion Il, Jacob K. Javits Federal Building, 26
Federal Plaza, Room 5000, New York, NY
10278.

Owners or lessees of recycling or re-
covery equipment having their places
of business in:

Delaware

District of Columbia
Maryland
Pennsylvania
Virginia

West Virginia

must send their certifications to:
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CAA §608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion I, Mail Code 3AT21, 841 Chestnut
Building, Philadelphia, PA 19107.

Owners or lessees of recycling or re-
covery equipment having their places
of business in:

Alabama
Florida
Georgia
Kentucky
Mississippi
North Carolina
South Carolina
Tennessee

must send their certifications to:

CAA 8608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion 1V, 345 Courtland Street, NE., Mail Code
APT-AE, Atlanta, GA 30365.

Owners or lessees of recycling or re-
covery equipment having their places
of business in:

Ilinois
Indiana
Michigan
Minnesota
Ohio
Wisconsin

must send their certifications to:

CAA §608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion V, Mail Code AT18J, 77 W. Jackson
Blvd., Chicago, IL 60604-3507.

Owners or lessees of recycling or re-
covery equipment having their places
of business in:

Arkansas
Louisiana
New Mexico
Oklahoma
Texas

must send their certifications to:

CAA 8608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion VI, Mail Code 6T-EC, First Interstate
Tower at Fountain Place, 1445 Ross Ave.,
Suite 1200, Dallas, TX 75202-2733.

Owners or lessees of recycling or re-
covery equipment having their places
of business in:

lowa
Kansas
Missouri
Nebraska

must send their certifications to:

CAA §608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion VII, Mail Code ARTX/ARBR, 726 Min-
nesota Ave., Kansas City, KS 66101.
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Owners or lessees of recycling or re-
covery equipment having their places
of business in:

Colorado
Montana
North Dakota
South Dakota
Utah
Wyoming

must send their certifications to:

CAA §608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion VIII, Mail Code 8AT-AP, 999 18th Street,
Suite 500, Denver, CO 80202-2405.

Owners or lessees of recycling or re-
covery equipment having their places
of business in:

American Samoa
Arizona
California

Guam

Hawaii

Nevada

must send their certifications to:

CAA §608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion IX, Mail Code A-3, 75 Hawthorne Street,
San Francisco, CA 94105.

Owners or lessees of recycling or re-
covery equipment having their places
of business in:

Alaska
Idaho
Oregon
Washington

must send their certifications to:

CAA §608 Enforcement Contact, EPA Re-
gion X, Mail Code AT-082, 1200 Sixth Ave.,
Seattle, WA 98101.

(b) Certificates under paragraph (a)
of this section are not transferable. In
the event of a change of ownership of
an entity that maintains, services, or
repairs appliances except MVACs, or
that disposes of appliances except
small appliances, MVACs, and MVAC-
like appliances, the new owner of the
entity shall certify within 30 days of
the change of ownership pursuant to
paragraph (a) of this section.

(c) No later than August 12, 1993, per-
sons recovering refrigerant from small
appliances, MVVACs, and MVAC-like ap-
pliances for purposes of disposal of
these appliances must certify to the
Administrator that such person has ac-
quired recovery equipment that meets
the standards set forth in §82.158 (I)
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and/or (m), as applicable, and that such
person is complying with the applica-
ble requirements of this subpart. Such
equipment may include system-depend-
ent equipment but must include self-
contained equipment, if the equipment
is to be used in the disposal of appli-
ances except for small appliances. The
owner or lessee of the recovery or recy-
cling equipment may perform this cer-
tification for his or her employees. Cer-
tification shall take the form of a
statement signed by the owner of the
equipment or another responsible offi-
cer and setting forth:

(1) The name and address of the pur-
chaser of the equipment, including the
county name;

(2) The name and address of the es-
tablishment where each piece of equip-
ment is or will be located;

(3) The number of service trucks (or
other vehicles) used to transport tech-
nicians and equipment between the es-
tablishment and job sites and the field;

(4) The manufacturer’s name, the
date of manufacture, and if applicable,
the model and serial number of the
equipment; and

(5) The certification must also in-
clude a statement that the equipment
will be properly used in recovering re-
frigerant from appliances and that the
information given is true and correct.
The certification shall be sent to the
appropriate address in paragraph (a).

(d) Failure to abide by any of the pro-
visions of this subpart may result in
revocation or suspension of certifi-
cation under paragraph (a) or (c) of this
section. In such cases, the Adminis-
trator or her or his designated rep-
resentative shall give notice to the or-
ganization setting forth the basis for
her or his determination.

[58 FR 28712, May 14, 1993, as amended at 59
FR 42962, Aug. 19, 1994]

§82.164 Reclaimer certification.

Effective October 18, 1994, all persons
reclaiming used refrigerant for sale to
a new owner, except for persons who
properly certified under this section
prior to October 18, 1994, must certify
to the Administrator that such person
will:

(a) Return refrigerant to at least the
standard of purity set forth in appendix
A (based on ARI Standard 700-1993,
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Specifications for Fluorocarbon and
Other Refrigerants);

(b) Verify this purity using the meth-
ods set forth in appendix A;

(c) Release no more than 1.5 percent
of the refrigerant during the reclama-
tion process; and

(d) Dispose of wastes from the rec-
lamation process in accordance with
all applicable laws and regulations.

(e) The data elements for certifi-
cation are as follows:

(1) The name and address of the re-
claimer;

(2) A list of equipment used to re-
process and analyze the refrigerant;
and

(3) The owner or a responsible officer
of the reclaimer must sign the certifi-
cation stating that the refrigerant will
be returned to at least the standard of
purity set forth in appendix A, that the
purity of the refrigerant will be
verified using the methods set forth in
appendix A, that no more than 1.5 per-
cent of the refrigerant will be released
during the reclamation process, that
wastes from the reclamation process
will be properly disposed of, and that
the information given is true and cor-
rect. The certification should be sent
to the following address: Section 608
Recycling Program Manager, Re-
claimer Certification, Stratospheric
Protection Division (6205J), U.S. Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency, 401 M
Street, SW., Washington, DC 20460.

(f) Certificates are not transferable.
In the event of a change in ownership
of an entity which reclaims refrig-
erant, the new owner of the entity
shall certify within 30 days of the
change of ownership pursuant to this
section.

(g) Failure to abide by any of the pro-
visions of this subpart may result in
revocation or suspension of the certifi-
cation of the reclaimer. In such cases,
the Administrator or her or his des-
ignated representative shall give no-
tice to the organization setting forth
the basis for her or his determination.

[58 FR 28712, May 14, 1993, as amended at 59
FR 42957, 42962, Aug. 19, 1994; 59 FR 55927,
Nov. 9, 1994]
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