§654.21

deemed possession, provided that, if
the trap is removed from the water
during such period, such crab is re-
turned immediately to the water with
its claws unharvested.

(b) Placement of traps. (1) Prior to the
fishing season. The period of October 5
through October 14 is established as a
trap soak period. A stone crab trap
may be placed in the management area
not earlier than 1 hour before sunrise
on October 5.

(2) After the fishing season. The period
of May 16 through May 20 is established
as a trap removal period. A stone crab
trap must be removed from the man-
agement area not later than 1 hour
after sunset on May 20, unless an ex-
tension to the removal period is grant-
ed under paragraph (b)(2)(i) of this sec-
tion and the extension authorization is
carried aboard the fishing vessel as
specified in paragraph (b)(2)(ii) of this
section.

(i) An extension of the removal pe-
riod may be granted by Florida in ac-
cordance with Rule 46-13.002(2)(b), Flor-
ida Administrative Code, in effect as of
April 14, 1995. This incorporation by
reference was approved by the Director
of the Office of the Federal Register in
accordance with 5 U.S.C. 552(a) and 1
CFR part 51. Copies may be obtained
from the Florida Marine Fisheries
Commission, 2540 Executive Center Cir-
cle West, Suite 106, Tallahassee, FL
32301; telephone: 904-487-0554. Copies
may be inspected at the office of the
Regional Director, or the Office of the
Federal Register, 800 North Capitol
Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington,
DC.

(ii) The extension authorization must
be carried aboard the fishing vessel.
The operator of a fishing vessel must
present the authorization for inspec-
tion upon request of an authorized offi-
cer.

(c) Possession of stone crab traps. A
stone crab trap may not be possessed in
the management area from the end of
the trap removal period, or an exten-
sion thereto, to the beginning of the
trap soak period, as specified in para-
graph (b) of this section. A stone crab
trap, float, or rope in the management
area during this period will be consid-
ered unclaimed or abandoned property
and may be disposed of in any manner
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considered appropriate by the Assist-
ant Administrator or an authorized of-
ficer. An owner of such trap, float, or
rope remains subject to appropriate
civil penalties.

§654.21 Harvest limitations.

(a) Claw size. No person may remove
from a stone crab in or from the man-
agement area, or possess in the man-
agement area, a claw with a propodus
measuring less than 2.75 inches (7.0
cm), measured in a straight line from
the elbow to the tip of the lower im-
movable finger. The propodus is the
largest section of the claw assembly
that has both a movable and immov-
able finger and is located farthest from
the body when the entire appendage is
extended. (See Appendix A, Figure 1, of
this part.)

(b) Egg-bearing stone crabs. An egg-
bearing stone crab in or from the man-
agement area must be returned imme-
diately to the water unharmed—with-
out removal of a claw. An egg-bearing
stone crab may not be stripped of its
eggs or otherwise molested.

(c) Holding stone crabs. A live stone
crab in or from the management area
may be held aboard a vessel until such
time as a legal-sized claw is removed,
provided it is held in a container that
is shaded from direct sunlight and it is
wet with sea water as necessary to
keep it in a damp condition. Containers
holding stone crabs must be stacked in
a manner that does not compress the
crabs. A stone crab body from which a
legal-sized claw has been removed must
be returned to the sea before the vessel
reaches shore or a port or dock.

§654.22 Gear restrictions.

(a) Biodegradable panels. A stone crab
trap used or possessed in the manage-
ment area must have a panel con-
structed of wood or cotton and located
on a side of the trap at least two slats
above the bottom, or on the top of the
trap, which, when removed, will leave
an opening in the trap measuring at
least 2.5 inches by 5 inches (6.35 cm by
12.7 cm).

(b) Daylight hours. A stone crab trap
in the management area may be pulled
or tended during daylight hours only—
that is, from 1 hour before sunrise to 1
hour after sunset.
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