DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Bureau of Prisons

List of Bureau of Prisons Institutions

AGENCY: Bureau of Prisons, Justice. **ACTION:** Notice.

SUMMARY: In this document, the Bureau of Prisons is publishing a consolidated listing of its institutions. The following institutions have been added to the listing: United States Penitentiary at Beaumont, Texas; Federal Correctional Institutions at Elkton, Ohio, Forrest City Arkansas, Yazoo City, Mississippi, Edgefield, South Carolina and Beaumont, Texas; a Federal Prison Camp at Beaumont, Texas; a Federal Detention Center at SeaTac, Washington; and a Federal Medical Center at Devens, Massachusetts.

ADDRESSES: Office of General Counsel. Bureau of Prisons, 320 First Street NW., HOLC Room 754, Washington, DC 20534.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Roy Nanovic, (202) 514-6655.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Attorney General Order No. 646-76 (41 FR 14805), as amended, classifies and lists the various Bureau of Prisons institutions. Attorney General Order No. 960-81, Reorganization Regulations, published in the Federal Register October 27, 1981 (at 46 FR 52339 et seq.) delegated to the Director, Bureau of Prisons, in 28 CFR 0.96(q), the authority to establish and designate Bureau of Prisons institutions. The last listing of the Bureau's institutions was published in the Federal Register on December 14, 1995 (60 FR 64258).

This notice is not a rule within the meaning of the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 551(4), the Regulatory Flexibility Act, 5 U.S.C. 601(2), or Executive Order No. 12866, Sec. 3(d).

By virtue of the authority vested in the Attorney General in 18 U.S.C. 3621, 4001, 4003, 4042, 4081, and 4082 (repealed in part October 12, 1984) and delegated to the Director, Bureau of Prisons by 28 CFR 0.96(q), it is hereby ordered as follows:

The following institutions are established and designated as places of confinement for the detention of persons held under authority of any Act of Congress, and for persons charged with or convicted of offenses against the United States or otherwise placed in the custody of the Attorney General of the United States.

A. The Bureau of Prisons institutions at the following locations are designated as U.S. Penitentiaries:

- (1) Allenwood, Pennsylvania;
- (2) Atlanta, Georgia;
- (3) Beaumont, Texas;
- (4) Florence, Colorado (ADMAX);
- (5) Florence, Colorado (High Security);
- (6) Leavenworth, Kansas;
- (7) Lewisburg, Pennsylvania;
- (8) Lompoc, California;
- (9) Marion, Illinois; and
- (10) Terre Haute, Indiana.

B. The Bureau of Prisons institutions at the following locations are designated as Federal Correctional Institutions:

- (1) Allenwood, Pennsylvania (Low Security);
- (2) Allenwood, Pennsylvania (Medium Security);
- (3) Ashland, Kentucky;
- (4) Bastrop, Texas:
- (5) Beaumont, Texas (Low Security);
- (6) Beaumont, Texas (Medium Security);
- (7) Beckley, West Virginia;
- (8) Big Spring, Texas;
- (9) Butner, North Carolina (Low Security);
- (10) Butner, North Carolina (Medium Security);
- (11) Coleman, Florida (Low Security);
- (12) Coleman, Florida (Medium Security);
- (13) Cumberland, Maryland;
- (14) Danbury, Connecticut;
- (15) Dublin. California:
- (16) Edgefield, South Carolina;
- (17) El Reno, Oklahoma;
- (18) Elkton, Ohio;
- (19) Englewood, Colorado;
- (20) Estill, South Carolina;
- (21) Fairton, New Jersey;
- (22) Florence, Colorado;
- (23) Forrest City, Arkansas;
- (24) Fort Dix, New Jersey;
- (25) Greenville, Illinois;
- (26) Jesup, Georgia;
- (27) La Tuna, Texas; (28) Lompoc, California;
- (29) Loretto, Pennsylvania;
- (30) Manchester, Kentucky:
- (31) Marianna, Florida;
- (32) McKean, Pennsylvania;
- (33) Memphis, Tennessee;
- (34) Miami, Florida;
- (35) Milan, Michigan;
- (36) Morgantown, West Virginia;
- (37) Oakdale, Louisiana;
- (38) Otisville, New York;
- (39) Oxford, Wisconsin;
- (40) Pekin, Illinois;
- (41) Petersburg, Virginia;
- (42) Phoenix, Arizona;
- (43) Ray Brook, New York;
- (44) Safford, Arizona;
- (45) Sandstone, Minnesota;

- (46) Schuylkill, Pennsylvania;
- (47) Seagoville, Texas;
- (48) Sheridan, Oregon;
- (49) Talladega, Alabama;
- (50) Tallahassee, Florida;
- (51) Terminal Island, California;
- (52) Texarkana, Texas;
- (53) Three Rivers, Texas;
- (54) Tucson. Arizona:
- (55) Waseca, Minnesota; and
- (56) Yazoo City, Mississippi.
- C. The Bureau of Prisons institutions at the following locations are designated as Federal Prison Camps:
- (1) Alderson, West Virginia;
- (2) Allenwood, Pennsylvania;
- (3) Beaumont, Texas;
- (4) Boron, California;
- (5) Bryan, Texas;
- (6) Duluth, Minnesota;
- (7) Eglin, Florida;
- (8) El Paso, Texas;
- (9) Montgomery, Alabama;
- (10) Nellis, Nevada;
- (11) Pensacola, Florida;
- (12) Seymour Johnson, North Carolina;
- (13) Yankton, South Dakota.
- D. The Bureau of Prisons institutions at the following locations house inmates who are primarily pre-trial detainees and are designated as:

Federal Detention Centers:

- (1) Miami, Florida;
- (2) Oakdale, Louisiana; and
- (3) SeaTac, Washington.
- **Metropolitan Correctional Centers:**
 - (1) Chicago, Illinois;
 - (2) New York, New York; and
 - (3) San Diego, California.
- Metropolitan Detention Centers:
 - (1) Brooklyn, New York;
 - (2) Guaynabo, Puerto Rico; and
 - (3) Los Angeles, California.
- E. The Bureau of Prisons institution at Springfield, Missouri is designated as the U.S. Medical Center for Federal Prisoners.
- F. The Bureau of Prisons institutions at the following locations are designated as Federal Medical Centers:
- (1) Carswell. Texas:
- (2) Devens, Massachusetts
- (3) Fort Worth, Texas;
- (4) Lexington, Kentucky; and
- (5) Rochester, Minnesota.
- G. The Bureau of Prisons institution at Oklahoma City, Oklahoma is designated as the Federal Transportation Center.

Kathleen Hawk Sawyer,

Director, Federal Bureau of Prisons.

[FR Doc. 98-27877 Filed 10-15-98: 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 4410-05-P