# **EXECUTIVE BRANCH**

### THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES

THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES GEORGE W. BUSH

Article II, section 1, of the Constitution provides that "[t]he executive Power shall be vested in a President of the United States of America. He shall hold his Office during the Term of four Years, . . . together with the Vice President, chosen for the same Term . . . ." In addition to the powers set forth in the Constitution, the statutes have conferred upon the President specific authority and responsibility covering a wide range of matters (United States Code Index).

The President is the administrative head of the executive branch of the Government, which includes numerous agencies, both temporary and permanent, as well as the 15 executive departments.

#### The Cabinet

The Cabinet, a creation of custom and tradition dating back to George Washington's administration, functions at the pleasure of the President. Its purpose is to advise the President upon any subject, relating to the duties of the respective offices, on which he requests information (pursuant to Article II, section 2, of the Constitution).

The Cabinet is composed of the Vice President and the heads of the 15 executive departments—the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, and the Attorney General. Additionally, in the Bush administration, Cabinet-level rank has been accorded to the Chief of Staff to the President; the Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency; the Director, Office of Management and Budget; the Director, Office of National Drug Control Policy; and the U.S. Trade Representative.

## THE VICE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES

THE VICE PRESIDENT

DICK CHENEY

Article II, section I, of the Constitution provides that the President "shall hold his Office during the Term of four Years . . . together with the Vice President . . . ." In addition to his role as President of the Senate, the Vice President is empowered

#### 88 U.S. GOVERNMENT MANUAL

to succeed to the Presidency, pursuant to Article II and the 20th and 25th amendments to the Constitution.

The executive functions of the Vice President include participation in Cabinet meetings and, by statute, membership on the National Security Council and the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution.

#### **EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT**

Under authority of the Reorganization Act of 1939 (5 U.S.C. 133-133r, 133t note), various agencies were transferred to the Executive Office of the President by the President's Reorganization Plans I and II of 1939 (5 U.S.C. app.), effective July 1, 1939. Executive Order 8248 of September 8, 1939, established the divisions of the Executive Office and defined their functions. Subsequently, Presidents have used Executive orders, reorganization plans, and legislative initiatives to reorganize the Executive Office to make its composition compatible with the goals of their administrations.

#### The White House Office

1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW., Washington, DC 20500 Phone, 202-456-1414. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov.

Assistant to the President and Chief of Staff

Assistant to the President and Chief of Staff Assistant to the President, Chief of Staff to the Vice President, and Counsel	Joshua B. Bolten David S. Addington
Assistant to the President and Deputy Chief of Staff	Joseph W. Hagin
Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Adviser	James Jeffrey
Assistant to the President and Press Secretary	Dana Perino
Assistant to the President and Staff Secretary	Raul F. Yanes
Assistant to the President for Communications	Kevin F. Sullivan
Assistant to the President for Homeland	Kenneth Wainstein
Security and Counterterrorism	
Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs	Daniel Meyer
Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs	Stephen J. HADLEY
Assistant to the President for Presidential Personnel	Joie Gregor
Assistant to the President for Speechwriting	Marc Theissen
Assistant to the President for Strategic Initiatives and External Affairs	Barry Jackson
Counsel to the President	Fred F. Fielding
Counselor to the President	Ed Gillespie
Assistant to the President and Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy	Joel D. Kaplan
Assistant to the President and Chief of Staff to the First Lady	Anita B. McBride
Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy Director of Communications for Policy and Planning	Terri Teuber Moore