### ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Campbell (CA)

#### NOT VOTING-27

Costa Hastings (FL) Pryce (OH) Hooley Cubin Renzi Rohrabacher Delahunt Jefferson Doolittle Johnson, E. B. Sensenbrenner Ellison Keller Snyder Emanuel Tancredo Kirk Kuhl (NY) Everett Walberg Gilchrest Miller, Gary Watson Weldon (FL) Gutierrez Peterson (PA)

#### $\Box$ 1753

Messrs. GALLEGLY and WITTMAN of Virginia changed their vote from "yea" to "nay."

Mr. UPTON changed his vote from "nay" to "yea."

So the previous question was ordered. The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

MOMENT OF SILENCE IN REMEMBRANCE OF MEMBERS OF ARMED FORCES AND THEIR FAMILIES

The SPEAKER. The Chair would ask all present to rise for the purpose of a moment of silence.

The Chair asks that the House now observe a moment of silence in remembrance of our brave men and women in uniform who have given their lives in the service of our Nation in Iraq and in Afghanistan and their families, and all who serve in our Armed Forces and their families.

### □ 1800

# THANKS AND WELL WISHES TO ROB NABORS

(Mr. OBEY asked and was given permission to address the House for 1 minute.)

Mr. OBEY. Mr. Speaker, for the last 4 years Rob Nabors has served as, first, the staff director of the then-Minority Democrats on the Appropriations Committee and, in the last 2 years, as the staff director of the entire committee. His work ethic has been legendary. He has worked all hours of the day like so many in this institution whose names are not publicly known. He has worked overtime. He's worked night and day. He's worked weekdays and weekends. He's demonstrated great judgment and skill. And he has also been a bit of history because he is the first African American to have served as the staff director for the Appropriations Com-

But now, alas, President-elect Obama has asked him to serve as the Deputy Director of OMB, and exercising the "faulty judgment" that we have come to expect from Chicago Bears fans, he has accepted that invitation.

So I simply wanted to take this moment to publicly in this institution thank him for the great service that he has provided this institution and the country and to wish him well on the road ahead.

Mr. HOYER. Will the gentleman yield?

Mr. OBEY. Surely.

Mr. HOYER. I thank the gentleman for yielding.

Mr. Speaker, I had the privilege of chairing a subcommittee on the Appropriations Committee many years ago, and Rob Nabors was my staff director, so I had an opportunity to work with him firsthand. And I want to echo the comments of Mr. OBEY and, I know, the comments that Mr. LEWIS will make.

Mr. Nabors is an individual of great intellect, great integrity, and great insight. And I want to frankly express on behalf of the House our appreciation to the President-elect for having the wisdom to choose somebody who knows the House so well and I think we will be able to work with very closely, although my impression is that his relationship with Mr. OBEY may be modified just slightly.

Rob, congratulations to you.

Mr. LEWIS of California. Will the gentleman yield?

Mr. OBEY. I yield to the gentleman. Mr. LEWIS of California. I appreciate

my chairman's yielding.

Mr Speaker it has bee

Mr. Speaker, it has been my privilege to work with the chairmen both when they were in the minority and now running the place.

I must say that very few staff people combine both the intellect and personality kind of warmth that Rob reflects in the everyday work of this fabulous guy. He's a wonderful member of our staff. OMB is going to be very fortunate to have him, and we will miss him. So thank you very much.

Mr. OBEY. I yield to the Speaker.

Ms. PELOSI. Thank you very much, Mr. Chairman. I want to join my colleagues and sing the praises of Rob Nabors.

We are blessed in the Congress with magnificent staff on both sides of the aisle who serve the American people very well, none more excellent than Rob Nabors.

It is with great congratulations that we send him off to the new administration to work for President-elect and then President Obama but not without some sadness in losing him here in the Congress.

Rob, thank you for your service to our country, for your excellence in your work, and for the friendship that you have provided to many of us and for the courage and fortitude you have exhibited in working under the great leadership of Chairman OBEY. Thank you, Rob Nabors, again.

# ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. SERRANO). Without objection, 5-minute voting will continue.

There was no objection.

PROVIDING FOR CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 7321, AUTO INDUSTRY FI-NANCING AND RESTRUCTURING ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the resolution.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

Mr. DREIER. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. This will be a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 225, nays 179, answered "present" 1, not voting 28, as follows:

### [Roll No. 688] YEAS—225

Abercrombie Gonzalez Obey Ackerman Gordon Olver Green, Al Allen Ortiz Altmire Green, Gene Pallone Andrews Grijalva Hall (NY) Pascrell Arcuri Pastor Baca Hare Payne Baird Harman Perlmutter Peterson (MN) Baldwin Higgins Barrow Pomerov Bean Hinojosa Price (NC) Becerra Rahall Hirono Berkley Hodes Ramstad Berman Holden Rangel Berry Holt Reves Bishop (GA) Honda Richardson Bishop (NY) Hover Rodriguez Blumenauer Inslee Ross Rothman Israel Jackson (IL) Boswell Roybal-Allard Boucher Jackson-Lee Ruppersberger Boyd (FL) (TX) Rush Rvan (OH) Johnson (GA) Boyda (KS) Salazar Kagen Brady (PA) Kanjorski Braley (IA) Sánchez, Linda Brown, Corrine Kaptur Т. Kennedy Sanchez, Loretta Butterfield Camp (MI) Kildee Sarbanes Kilpatrick Capps Schakowsky Capuano Schiff Kind Klein (FL) Cardoza Schwartz Knollenberg Carnahan Scott (GA) Carson Kucinich Scott (VA) Castor LaHood Serrano Cazayoux Lampson Sestak Shea-Porter Chandler Langevin Larsen (WA) Childers Sherman Larson (CT) Clarke Sires Clay LaTourette Skelton Cleaver Lee Slaughter Levin Smith (WA) Clyburn Lewis (GA) Cohen Solis Convers Lininski Souder Loebsack Cooper Space Costello Lofgren, Zoe Speier Courtney Lowey Spratt Lynch Stark Cramer Mahoney (FL) Stupak Crowley Cuellar Malonev (NY) Sutton Cummings Markey Tanner Davis (AL) Marshall Tauscher Davis (CA) Matsui Tavlor McCarthy (NY) Thompson (CA) Davis (IL) Davis, Lincoln McCollum (MN) Thompson (MS) McCotter DeFazio Tiernev McDermott DeGette Towns DeLauro McGovern Tsongas McNerney Udall (CO) Dicks Udall (NM) Dingell McNulty Doggett Meek (FL) Upton Meeks (NY) Van Hollen Donnelly Melancon Velázquez Doyle Edwards (MD) Miller (MI) Visclosky Edwards (TX) Miller (NC) Walz (MN) Ehlers Miller, George Wasserman Ellsworth Mollohan Schultz Moore (KS) Waters Engel Eshoo Moore (WI) Watt Moran (VA) Waxman Etheridge Murphy (CT) Weiner Farr Welch (VT) Murphy, Patrick Fattah Filner Murtha Wexler Wilson (OH) Foster Nadler Frank (MA) Napolitano Woolsey Neal (MA) Fudge Wu Gillibrand Oberstar Yarmuth

### NAYS—179

Aderholt Alexander Bachus Akin Bachmann Barrett (SC)