Ellen Gloninger Murray, of Virginia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Health and Human Services.

Bryan Hayes Samuels, of Illinois, to be Commissioner on Children, Youth, and Families, Department of Health and Human Services.

Ketanji Brown Jackson, of Maryland, to be a Member of the United States Sentencing Commission for a term expiring October 31, 2013.

Irvin M. Mayfield, Jr., of Louisiana, to be a Member of the National Council on the Arts for a term expiring September 3, 2014.

Marisa Lago, of New York, to be an Assistant Secretary of the Treasury.

Sara Manzano-Diaz, of Pennsylvania, to be Director of the Women's Bureau, Department of Labor.

Charles Collyns, of Maryland, to be a Deputy Under Secretary of the Treasury.

Patrick Alfred Corvington, of Maryland, to be Chief Executive Officer of the Corporation for National and Community Service.

Susan B. Carbon, of New Hampshire, to be Director of the Violence Against Women Office, Department of Justice.

Mary John Miller, of Maryland, to be an Assistant Secretary of the Treasury.

Betty E. King, of New York, to be Representative of the United States of America to the Office of the United Nations and Other International Organizations in Geneva, with the rank of Ambassador.

Caryn A. Wagner, of Virginia, to be Under Secretary for Intelligence and Analysis, Department of Homeland Security.

Suresh Kumar, of New Jersey, to be Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Director General of the United States and Foreign Commercial Service.

Douglas A. Criscitello, of Virginia, to be Chief Financial Officer, Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Cynthia L. Attwood, of Virginia, to be a Member of the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission for a term expiring April 27, 2013.

Nicole Yvette Lamb-Hale, of Michigan, to be an Assistant Secretary of Commerce.

Robert A. Petzel, of Minnesota, to be Under Secretary for Health of the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Mary Sally Mantiella, of Arizona, to be an Assistant Secretary of the Army.

Sharon Y. Bowen, of New York, to be a Director of the Securities Investor Protection Corporation for a term expiring December 31, 2012.

Orlan Johnson, of Maryland, to be a Director of the Securities Investor Protection Corporation for a term expiring December 31, 2011.

David W. Mills, of Virginia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Commerce.

Douglas B. Wilson, of Arizona, to be an Assistant Secretary of Defense.

Theodore W. Tozer, of Ohio, to be President, Government National Mortgage Association.

Kevin Wolf, of Virginia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Commerce.

André, Birotte, Jr., of California, to be United States Attorney for the Central District of California for the term of four years.

Richard S. Hartunian, of New York, to be United States Attorney for the Northern District of New York for the term of four years.

Ronald C. Machen, Jr., of the District of Columbia, to be United States Attorney for the District of Columbia for the term of four years. Pages \$587, \$593

Nominations Received: Senate received the following nominations:

Sara Louise Faivre-Davis, of Texas, to be a Member of the Board of Directors of the Federal Agricultural Mortgage Corporation.

Lowell Lee Junkins, of Iowa, to be a Member of the Board of Directors of the Federal Agricultural Mortgage Corporation.

Myles J. Watts, of Montana, to be a Member of the Board of Directors of the Federal Agricultural Mortgage Corporation.

Richard M. Lobo, of Florida, to be Director of the International Broadcasting Bureau, Broadcasting Board of Governors.

Pages \$587-89, \$593

Executive Reports of Committees: Page S569

Additional Cosponsors: Pages \$569-70

Statements on Introduced Bills/Resolutions:

Pages S570-75

Additional Statements: Pages \$562-67

Amendments Submitted: Pages S575-87

Authorities for Committees to Meet: Page S587

Adjournment: Senate convened at 2:30 p.m. and adjourned, pursuant to the provisions of H. Con. Res. 235, at 6:47 p.m., until 2 p.m. on Monday, February 22, 2010. (For Senate's program, see the remarks of the Majority Leader in today's Record on page \$593.)

Committee Meetings

(Committees not listed did not meet)

FISCAL SUSTAINABILITY

Committee on the Budget: Committee concluded a hearing to examine setting and meeting an appropriate target for fiscal sustainability, after receiving testimony from Alice M. Rivlin, Brookings Institution, Maya MacGuineas, Committee for a Responsible

Federal Budget, and Rudolph G. Penner, Urban Institute, all of Washington, D.C.

BUSINESS MEETING

Committee on Indian Affairs: Committee ordered favorably reported the nomination of Lillian A. Sparks, of Maryland, to be Commissioner of the Administration for Native Americans, Department of Health and Human Services.

NOMINATIONS

Committee on the Judiciary: Committee concluded a hearing to examine the nominations of Gloria M. Navarro, to be United States District Judge for the District of Nevada, who was introduced by Senator Reid, Audrey Goldstein Fleissig, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Missouri, who was introduced by Senator McCaskill, Lucy Haeran Koh, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of California, who was introduced by Senator Boxer, and Jon E. DeGuilio, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Indiana, and Tanya Walton Pratt, and Jane E. Magnus-Stinson, both to be United States District Judge for the Southern District of Indiana, who were

each introduced by Senator Bayh, after the nominees testified and answered questions in their own behalf.

BUSINESS MEETING

Committee on the Judiciary: Committee ordered favorably reported the nominations of Genevieve Lynn May, to be United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Louisiana, and James P. Lynch, of the District of Columbia, to be Director of the Bureau of Justice Statistics, both of the Department of Justice, and Nancy D. Freudenthal, to be United States District Judge for the District of Wyoming, Denzil Price Marshall Jr., to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Arkansas, Benita Y. Pearson, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Ohio, and Timothy S. Black, to be United States District Judge for the Southern District of Ohio.

INTELLIGENCE

Select Committee on Intelligence: Committee held closed hearings on intelligence matters, receiving testimony from officials of the intelligence community.

Committee recessed subject to the call.

House of Representatives

Chamber Action

The House was not in session today. The House is scheduled to meet at 2 p.m. on Monday, February 22, 2010, pursuant to the provisions of H. Con. Res. 235.

Committee Meetings

No committee meetings were held.

Joint Meetings

No joint committee meetings were held.

COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOR FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 12, 2010

(Committee meetings are open unless otherwise indicated)

Senate

Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs: Subcommittee on Security and International Trade and Finance, to hold hearings to examine equipping financial regulators with the tools necessary to monitor systemic risk, 2:30 p.m., SD–538.

House

No committee meetings are scheduled.